Book Review – Birthday by Meredith Russo

birthday.jpgMeet Eric and Morgan.

Born on the same day, at the same time, in the same place. They’ve always shared this one day together, but as they grow up they begin to grow apart.

Everyone expects Eric to get a football scholarship, but no one knows he’s having second thoughts.
Former quarterback Morgan feels utterly alone, as she wrestles with the difficult choice to live as her true self.

Both of them are struggling to be the person they know they are. Who better to help than your best friend?

Told on one day every year, over six years, this is a story about how change pulls people apart… and how love brings them back together.

An LGBTQ+ YA One Day perfect for fans of Love, Simon, Birthday is a beautiful love story by the best-selling #ownvoices author of If I Was Your Girl.

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starNo-Star

I’m not sure how, but I somehow read this book without bawling the entire time. It’s so full of sadness! And hope too, don’t get me wrong, but I spent the entire thing just wanting to hug Morgan and Eric so bad.

Also the once a year format works surprisingly well, given how much changes in a year for teenagers. I was expecting it to feel jarring, and it didn’t at all.

Morgan is a trans girl who spends so much of her life denying who she is and it does get pretty dark – trigger warnings for gay slurs, transphobia, depression and suicidal tendencies. But honestly it felt so accurate for how small town life can be, and it’s so very heartbreaking. Morgan needs a million hugs.

Eric appears to be in slightly easier circumstances, but the toxicity of his home life and his homophobic friends definitely don’t make things easy for him. I’d love to see more of his relationship with his brothers.

This is just a genuinely sad but still amazing story and I highly recommend it.

break

Buy Birthday from Amazon UK.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Birthday by Meredith Russo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s