Book Review – OtherLife by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

otherlifeReturn to the series BuzzFeed compared to Ready Player One with the third book in the fast-paced trilogy from New York Times bestselling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller that’s perfect for fans of HBO’s Westworld.

Simon, Kat, Busara, and Elvis are on the run with the tech super-villains at the Company hot on their heels. The new VR gaming experience the Company created, OtherEarth, will change how the world experiences video games. Paired with the hardware the Company developed, it has the potential to change the world as we know it, altering our reality forever.

The Company is on its way to becoming the world’s newest superpower. And Simon is determined to shut them down forever. But to do that, he’ll have to survive OtherLife–the next phase of gaming, and a complete reality reboot.

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Half starNo-Star

I received this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

I really enjoyed the final instalment in the series! I liked seeing the affects of the ending of the last book on Simon, and then how they work with the things they discover on the way as well.

However, the motivations around OtherEarth never really worked for me, and honestly Gibson became a little cartoonish as a villain. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoyed the story but it felt like overkill in places. That said I really liked the trips back to Otherworld and seeing how things had changed there. And I liked the implications of something like OtherEarth existing. And as outlandish as it was, I do like Nasha and the secrets and everything around that.

Overall it really is a fun series and while I would have preferred it to be a tiny bit more realistic (not too much though, obviously!), I enjoyed it and would recommend it to someone looking for something a bit different from their sci fi. 3.5 stars.

break

Buy OtherLife from Amazon UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s