Book Review – The Girl with the Dragon Heart by Stephanie Burgis

the girl with the dragon heartOnce upon a time, in a beautiful city famous for chocolate and protected by dragons, there was a girl so fearless that she dared to try to tell the greatest story of all: the truth.

Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that just years after arriving as a penniless orphan, she has found her way up to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city (oh, and becoming best friends with a dragon). Now her gift for weaving words has caught the eye of the royal family, who want to use her as a spy when the mysterious and dangerous fairy royal family announce they will visit the city. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies…

Can Silke find out the truth about the fairies while keeping her own secrets hidden? From the author of the magical The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart comes a second magical adventure perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell, Cornelia Funke and Peter Bunzl.

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Half starNo-Star

Just as cute as the first!

In some ways I liked the first more as it had more dragons and was a bit more “fun” and light hearted. But I’m others I liked this more because it was that bit more serious and we got to see more of the fantastic Selke! And I loved her and the royals, and her and the fairies.

Poor Selke trying to look after Aventurine was sort of hilarious too. Even if Aventurine definitely needs to learn to chill out and Selke shouldn’t be the only one paying attention. And her relationship with her brother was tough to read too – I feel we needed a little backstory to understand things a bit more from his side.

As I often find with fairy books, my favourite bit was Selke figuring out how to turn a bargain in her favour. She rocked though the whole book.

break

Buy The Girl with the Dragon Heart from Amazon UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s