Book Review – Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day by Dominique Valente

starfellMisfit witch Willow Moss holds the fate of the magical world of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands… A spellbinding new fantasy series for readers aged 8–12, perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell.

Willow Moss, the youngest and least powerful sister in a family of witches, has a magical ability for finding lost things – like keys, or socks, or wooden teeth. Her magic might be useful, but it’s not exactly exciting… Until, that is, the most powerful witch in the whole of Starfell turns up at her door needing Willow’s help.

A whole day – last Tuesday to be precise – has gone missing. And the repercussions could be devastating. Can Willow find the day to save the day?

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full star

Perfectly brilliant fun! It’s whimsical and there’s a QUEST 😍 and all the characters are awesome.

Willow has a gift for finding lost things, but she feels left out compare to her sisters gifts. But she meets an amazing witch and then goes on a journey with her monster (not a cat!) and befriends a dragon and a girl and a guy who faints a lot and a troll. And they are such lovely wonderful friends! Naturally, there’s also a anti magic religious group to beware of, all in their journey to find Tuesday.

This is such perfect middle grade loveliness. It has all the right moments of fun, silliness, mild terror, reward and, of course, talking animals. Highly recommended.

break

Buy Starfell from Amazon UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s