Book Review – The Conspiracy of Magic by Harriet Whitehorn

conspiracy of magicThe dazzling exploits of The Company of Eight continue in this rich fantasy adventure…

In a world where magic is so powerful it has been outlawed, Cass is a rare creature ­– an obtuse, someone who is unaffected by magic. But what has always felt like a handicap becomes a strength when sorcerers and magicians begin to perform magical deceptions with malicious intent. The Queen of Minaris is in grave danger and it’s up to Cass to protect her. But how can Cass defeat the sinister magician behind it all with no powers herself?

A thrilling tale of bravery and ingenuity from Harriet Whitehorn, author of the VIOLET series, for fans of COGHEART, NEVERMOOR and THE GIRL OF INK AND STARS.

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starNo-Star

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I have thoroughly enjoyed this world! Cass continues to be a great main character and I loved getting to see a different part of the Longest World this time, plus more politics.

I really loved the trip with the queen and how we get to see how Cass has grown since the end of a Company of Eight. Her bravery and detective skills are fun! Plus once the action kicks off, there are actually serious consequences in place and that seems rare for middle grade.

In places I felt that things were resolved a little too quickly or that certain characters didn’t really project the menace I would have liked, but that’s really it for my quibbles, it is too fun to get bogged down by them!

I’m dying to see what happens next as there’s some great foreshadowing going on!

break

Buy The Conspiracy of Magic from Amazon UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s