Book Review – The Last Smile in Sunder City by Luke Arnold

last smile to sunder cityA former soldier turned PI tries to help the fantasy creatures whose lives he ruined in a world that’s lost its magic in a compelling debut fantasy by Black Sails actor Luke Arnold.

Welcome to Sunder City. The magic is gone but the monsters remain.

I’m Fetch Phillips, just like it says on the window. There are a few things you should know before you hire me:
1. Sobriety costs extra.
2. My services are confidential.
3. I don’t work for humans.

It’s nothing personal—I’m human myself. But after what happened, to the magic, it’s not the humans who need my help.

Walk the streets of Sunder City and meet Fetch, his magical clients, and a darkly imagined world perfect for readers of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Half starNo-Star

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I wanted to adore this book – I loved urban fantasy and mystery, and had really high hopes. Instead I found it really enjoyable, especially as I went on, but no love.

However, the concept is awesome, and Fetch really did grow on me as a main character. He’s browsing over the loss of magic and how it changed everything, and punishing himself for his role in it. As you find out more of his backstory, he becomes more understandable – he was a slightly naive young man who sort of fell into being in the middle of a war.

Through the book we also see him figure out a little more about where he now sits in it all – though enough time has passed that he’s done some, I felt he was really affected by the storyline.

I also really enjoyed the mystery, and learning about all the people who had been affected by the loss of magic – that was so incredibly well done.

Honestly the only thing stopping me loving it was something in the writing I didn’t quite click with – but that definitely didn’t stop me enjoying it at all! 3.5 stars.

break

Buy The Last Smile in Sunder City from Amazon UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s