Book Review – The Girl King by Mimi Yu

the girl king.jpgTwo sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal for readers of Sabaa Tahir and Alwyn Hamilton.

All hail the Girl King.

Sisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty’s first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life in her shadow. Then their father declares their male cousin Set the heir instead—a betrayal that sends the sisters down two very different paths.

Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu goes on the run. She needs an ally—and an army—if she is to succeed. Her quest leads her to Nokhai, the last surviving wolf shapeshifter. Nok wants to keep his identity secret, but finds himself forced into an uneasy alliance with the girl whose family killed everyone he ever loved…

Alone in the volatile court, Min’s hidden power awakens—a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set’s reign…or allow Min to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one Emperor, and the sisters’ greatest enemy could turn out to be each other.

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starNo-StarNo-Star

I struggled to get into this book if I’m honest, which was a shame as I thought it sounded fantastic. I did end up enjoying it, but I didn’t really connect directly with any of the characters.

I liked the way Lu’s story was told, her narrative arc worked quite well for me. I did want a little more on her relationship with her parents, and the background there. And also there were a lot of events mentioned before the book started which I found quite confusing.

Min’s story was harder for me at first – as she was younger than I realised and quite naive. And then so trusting and easily used. She frustrated me as I wanted so much more for her.

I think the story itself is well written, just not a style I got on with. I hope others love it though 🙂

break

Buy The Girl King from Amazon UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s