Book Review – The Impossible Contract by K A Doore

the impossible contractSecond in K. A. Doore’s high fantasy adventure series the Chronicles of Ghadid, a determined assassin travels to the heart of the Empire in pursuit of a powerful mark, for fans of Robin Hobb, Sarah J. Maas, and S. A. Chakraborty.

Thana has a huge reputation to live up to as daughter of the Serpent, who rules over Ghadid’s secret clan of assassins. Opportunity to prove herself arrives when Thana accepts her first contract on Heru, a dangerous foreign diplomat with the ability to bind a person’s soul under his control.

She may be in over her head, especially when Heru is targeted by a rival sorcerer who sends hordes of the undead to attack them both. When Heru flees, Thana has no choice than to pursue him across the sands to the Empire that intends to capture Ghadid inside its iron grip.

A stranger in a strange city, Thana’s only ally is Mo, a healer who may be too noble for her own good. Meanwhile, otherworldly and political dangers lurk around every corner, and even more sinister plans are uncovered which could lead to worldwide devastation. Can Thana rise to the challenge—even if it means facing off against an ancient evil?

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Half star

I received this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

I somehow missed that this wasn’t a direct follow on from the first book, and I did spend some time missing Amastan 💙💙 I just loved him, okay? But Thana is a great main character and I ended up really enjoying this story too!

It was great to see some of the world outside the town, and venture further afield. And I really felt for poor Thana – she’s not a poor assassin, just had unfortunate circumstances! Plus her failing in the face of Mo’s beauty is super cute.

Plus the overarching story is so excellent – I realised literally right before we were told what was up and kicked myself for not getting it earlier – it’s so easy to get caught in the glorious mystery of it all.

Doore’s writing continues to be engaging and beautiful. I challenge you to read this book and not fall in love with this universe. 4.5 stars.

break

Buy The Impossible Contract from Amazon UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s