Book Review – Are You Watching? by Vincent Ralph

are you watchingA page-turning new YA thriller for the social media age, perfect for fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder and One Of Us Is Lying.

Ten years ago, Jess’s mother was murdered by the Magpie Man.

She was the first of his victims but not the last.

Now Jess is the star of a YouTube reality series and she’s using it to catch the killer once and for all.

The whole world is watching her every move.

And so is the Magpie Man.

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starNo-Star

I received this book from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.

I ran through this so fast! It’s properly addictive. I definitely wouldn’t have agree to do what Jess did, but I did love her drive to solve the case and find out more. It was a really interesting concept of going after a serial killer, with sometimes obvious results, but I did enjoy it.

There were two parts I thought were a little far fetched or disappointing – the way the other “stars” behave, and how Jess couldn’t have put it together herself, she is wholly reliant on a third party. However, that’s not untrue for crime, and she does put in the work to find that person.

I like Jess even though you feel her frustration, or experience your own at her recklessness! I liked how social media played into the story and how she saw the world, which was a really nice way to see it all.

A very quick read, which I really enjoyed.

break

Buy Are You Watching? from Amazon UK.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s