Book Review – Spellhacker by M K England

spellhackerFrom the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic—known as maz—was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that’s tightly controlled—and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they’re driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague—and possibly save the world.

No pressure.

break

My rating: Cyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starCyan-Full starNo-Star

I thoroughly enjoyed this! I do love a heist and this is no different – in face throw in the conspiracy and I’m all in!

The concept of maz was fun, and I liked that actually it worked throughout even though you don’t learn some fundamentals til near the end – it doesn’t affect the understanding of the book at all, or through the reader to have something new thrown at them fairly late on.

I like Dizzy and her friends – but particularly Remi 💙. I sometimes wanted to poke Diz for being obtuse or in her own way, but I liked that the others called her own it. And poor Remi, they don’t deserve all Diz’s internal angst!

There were definitely times that I felt I saw what was coming, but the overall concept worked so well I didn’t mind.

The conspiracy and way it all played out was very more-ish for me, I could happily read more set in this universe. I’m dying to know what happens next! Sadly this appears to be a standalone so I will have to wonder. 😂

break

Buy Spellhacker from Amazon UK.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Spellhacker by M K England

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s